Legion Literary Awards at the Elrose School on Monday June 6th.

Legion Members on Hand included the Saskatchewan Provincial Command President Keith Andrews, and District Zone Commander Cecile Andrews.

elrose legion awardsBrenda Fredrickson delivers a powerful speech that touches the hearts of everyone in the audience.

After a short but powerful speech from Elrose Legion member Ms Brenda Fredrickson, awards were handed out to the very deserving students of Elrose school, including:

Award winners

  • Zane Laheeb
    • 1st place Jr Essay zones
    • 1st place Jr Essay districts
    • his entry went on to the provincial level
  • Mia Watson
    • 3rd place Sr poem zones
  • Markus Minogue
    • 3rd place primary poster (Black & White) zones
  • Maddux Elliott
    • 3rd place primary poster zones
  • Justin Sherwin
    • 2nd place intermediate Essay zones
  • Hiemarie Strydom
    • 1st place intermediate poster zones
    • 3rd place intermediate poster districts
  • Aarika Haque
    • 1st place Sr poster zones
    • 3rd place Sr poster districts
    • 1st place Sr essay zones
    • 1st place Sr essay districts
    • 1st place Sr essay provincials
    • 1st place Sr essay Nationals
legion applauds the studentsLegion Members show gratitude to all the students in attendance for honouring veterans

Grade 12 student Aarika Haque will now have the honour of a free trip to Ottawa where the accolades continue. She will get to lay a wreath at The National War Memorial - tomb of the unknown soldier. She was personally thanked by SK president Keith Andrews and by Elrose branch president Shirley Brown. The plaque that Ottawa is sending is still on the way.