Three Delisle Chiefs players have been recognized for their fantastic play on the ice this season by the Prairie Junior Hockey League.

The league has announced their award winners for the 2018-2019 season with playoffs on the horizon. Delisle has had a tremendous season in the PJHL this winter, clinching the league with a few games to go before the postseason.

Defenceman Josh Atkinson, who calls Dinsmore home, was named the PJHL's Top Defenceman. Atkinson has been an anchor for the Chiefs this season on the blueline, recording 4 goals and 20 assists in 31 games, all while captaining one of the best teams in the league.

Josh, along with teammates Chad Westman and Austin Linnen, were named to the Bob Dybvig Division All-Star Team. Linnen has been one of the top offensive threats in the league this year, registering 34 goals and 39 assists in 35 games played, enough to have him as the fourth-highest scorer in the league. Westman, who is on the same line as Linnen, is third on the team in scoring with 18 goals and 30 assists in 32 games, making him a valuable piece to a dynamite offence.

The Top Scorer and Top Goalie awards will be given out at the end of the season, but there's a chance the winner(s) could be from the Chiefs. Linnen is only 9 points off of current scoring leader Jordan Hudson of the Saskatoon Quakers. With a few games left for Linnen to track down Hudson and the others above him, there's a possibility it could happen.

Delisle's goaltending this season has been something to admire. Justin Gauthier has a record of 21 wins and only 1 loss with a goals against average of 1.95 and save percentage of 0.930%. Gauthier leads in both GAA and save percentage categories league-wide, but not far behind him is teammate Jordan Berschiminsky.

The rookie is second in the PJHL for GAA (2.06) and save percentage (0.926%) while holding an 11-2-0-0 record. So there's a chance Gauthier takes this year's award or we see the pair share the award as a joint committee.

Also receiving recognition from the league was Chiefs social media co-ordinator and DJ Amanda Radford who was awarded the Volunteer of the Year.

View the full list of award winners and the entire all-star team rosters below.

2018-2019 Prairie Junior Hockey League Award Winners

2018-19 PJHL All-Stars


Twitter: @MoisesCanalesJr

Follow Country 104 (CKVX)Classic Hits Radio (CFYM/CJYM) and West Central Online on Facebook.

Follow Country 104 (CKVX) and Classic Hits Radio (CJYM) on Twitter.

More Sports News

Jardine Reflects on Time with Klippers

Clayton Jardine's cell phone has been buzzing and ringing constantly over the last couple days. No doubt it has been hectic lately for the 28-year-old who resigned from his position as head coach and…

Great Skill on Display at Badminton Playoffs

This past weekend the District Champion playoff tournament for High School Badminton took place. Senior players from the west central region headed to LCBI in Outlook for their tournament, and junior…

Buttar Slides Down the World Rankings

Dakota Buttar has outlasted the eight-second buzzer on five of his last ten bulls, however has found himself sliding down the world standings. After his showing at Kansas City, Missouri, Buttar…

Weekend Scoreboard - Mid-April Edition

2019 Allan Cup - Lacombe, Alberta The Lacombe Generals are the 2019 Allan Cup champions. The annual senior AAA hockey tournament came to a close on Saturday night with the Generals winning the final… is West Central Saskatchewan's only source for community news, weather, and information.

Search the Biz Guide