Kindersley Minor Hockey hosted their 2017-2018 Awards night on Tuesday at the West Central Events Centre. Kindersley Minor Hockey players were honoured for their accomplishments from this past season.

President of Kindersley Minor Hockey Dale Jackson spoke about the importance of the evening.

Before the awards Rob Nutley was named this year’s Mac Cannon Coach of the Year. Nutley has been a Kindersley Minor Hockey coach for 11 years and has spent many hours volunteering. The Mac Cannon Coach of the Year Award began four years ago in remembrance of Ron Cannon 's Dad for the numerous years he spent coaching Minor Hockey.
Rob Nutley 2017 2018 Mac Cannon Coach of the Year Award
(Photo courtesy of Kindersley Minor Hockey)

The awards for the Initiation, Novice and Atom levels were handed out first and the winners are as follows:

Initiation 1 Dodsland Credit Union Blades

Most Improved: Nixon Becker
Most Sportsmanlike: Graidy Bleile
Most Dedicated: Levi Thiessen

Initiation 2 Red Lion Swamp Rabbits

Most Improved: Lane Sackville
Most Sportsmanlike: Rylan Hearn
Most Dedicated: Brody Schoff

Initiation 3 Titanium Tubing Titans

Most Improved: Jaxson Toews / Will Massey
Most Sportsmanlike: Maddox Garret
Most Dedicated: Gavin Watt

Initiation 4 Royal Lepage Rockets

Most Improved: Blake Makranoff
Most Sportsmanlike: Lewis Meyer
Most Dedicated: Brayden Mcbride

Novice 1

Most Improved: Braxson Vanthyune
Most Sportsmanlike: Iralyn calkins
Most Dedicated: Seth Gutenberg
KMS MVP: Jack Thiessen

Novice 2

Most Improved: Levi Norberg
Most Sportsmanlike: Hayden Hilbig
Most Dedicated: Cohen Dufault
KMS MVP: Kaine Thiessen

Novice 3
Most Improved: James Wall
Most Sportsmanlike: Seth Elliot
Most dedicated: Kiptin Henery
KMS MVP: Max Douglas

Novice 4

Most Improved: Javier Gonzalez
Most Sportsmanlike: Emerson Grey
Most Dedicated: Ayden Makranoff
KMS MVP: Jaxson Squires

Atom 1 Longhorn Oil & Gas Klippers

Most Improved: Kale Sackville
Most Sportsmanlike: Avery Bertoia
Most Dedicated: Drake Chester
KMS MVP: Cobe Perlinger

Atom 2 Kindersley Blue Bandits

Most Improved: Markus Longton
Most Sportsmanlike: Ayla Stevens
Most Dedicated: Bennet Severson
KMS MVP: Aiden Torry

Atom 3 Kindersley Kaos

Most Improved: Quinton Jorgenson
Most Sportsmanlike: Aydan Chachula
Most Dedicated: Ella Rublee
KMS MVP: Pryce Thiessen

(Initiation, Novice and Atom photos courtesy of Kindersley Minor Hockey)
Those in attendance were then asked to stand for a moment of silence to honour the Humboldt Broncos.
 KMH awards moment of silence

The second half of the awards ceremony featured players from the Peewee, Bantam, and Midget divisions.

Bantam Kindersley Rosana Klippers

Most Improved: John Stevens
Most Sportsmanlike: Hunter Smith
Most Dedicated: Dawson Banks
KMS Hustler: Jaxson Leach / Jonah Walford
Torrens Most Inspirational: Seth Krahn
Community Award: Seth Krahn
Trent Kresse: Rylan Nutley

Glenda Torrens and Levi Krahn

(Presenter Glenda (Torrens) Hawken and Levi Krahn)

Peewee Bantam Midget KMH 2017 2018 Esso Awards 224

(Presenter Carter Kresse with Rylan Nutley)

Bantam Girls Western Prairie Thunder

Peewee Bantam Midget KMH 2017 2018 Esso Awards 213

Most Improved: Dani Stallman
Most Sportsmanlike: Kenzie Punter
Most Dedicated: Hailey Grey
KMS Hustler: Rilynn Dobson
Community Award: Bryn Deobald
Torrens Most Inspirational: Gracie Georgett
Lyle Dobson MVP: Shelby Rublee

Midget Hill Acme Klippers

Peewee Bantam Midget KMH 2017 2018 Esso Awards 220

Most Improved: Caleb Bacon
Most Sportsmanlike: Ryder Dionne
Most Dedicated: Trey Deobald
KMS Hustler: Preston Edgerton
Community Award: Ryker Olafson
Torrens Most Inspirational : Christian Vogel
Darren Uzelman MVP: Trey Deobald

Peewee Source For Sports Falcons

Peewee Bantam Midget KMH 2017 2018 Esso Awards 196

Most Improved: Jonathon Allen
Most Sportsmanlike: Kearin Wagner
Most Dedicated: Jace Reichert
KMS Hustler: Calvin Feader
Community Award: Kayden Elliot / Keaton Cote
Torrens Most Inspirational: Levi Krahn


More Sports News

Klippers and Outlaws Meet for First Time this Weekend

The clash of titans is scheduled for tomorrow night in the Sask West Hockey League when the Wilkie Outlaws fight on home ice against the Kindersley Sr. Klippers. It is one of the most anticipated…

Delisle Chiefs, Carrot River Outback Thunder Set to Battle in Dodsland

Dodsland's hockey arena will be the venue for a junior B hockey game this weekend. The PJHL's Delisle Chiefs and Carrot River Outback Thunder will duke it out in Dodsland this Saturday for a neutral…

Klippers Tie Nipawin Late, But Hawks Take Tilt in Shootout

Despite a late goal in the third period to tie the game up against the Nipawin Hawks, the Kindersley Klippers fell short to the Hawks 3-2 in a shootout last night at the West Central Events Centre.…

Carissa Hogan on Team Saskatchewan for Winter Games

The rosters for Team Saskatchewan's U18 Female Hockey team were announced earlier this week. Carissa Hogan of Rosetown made the team and will be representing the province at the Canada Winter Games.…

Elrose Hosts First Wrestling Tournament Since 2011

The Elrose Wrestling Club held their first home wrestling tournament in several years. Russel Fersch, Elrose Wrestling Coach, said it was also one of the first tournaments for the year, "It's…

SWHL, ACWH and More from the Weekend Scoreboard

In the Sask West Hockey League this past weekend: The Unity Miners lost to the Kindersley Sr. Klippers 8-7 on Friday night in Kindersley while the Wilkie Outlaws remained undefeated on the year with…

Canada Cup Draw 9: Big Ends and Small Mistakes

A big second end propelled Team Gushue over Team Koe in Draw 9 at the Home Hardware Canada Cup. Gushue took 4 in the 2nd end to go up 4-1. But then Koe rallied scoring 2 in the 4th, by the end of the…

Local Bantam Players Selected for SaskFirst Tournament

A few hockey players from west central Saskatchewan have made the cut to represent the north region of the province at the 2018 Male Bantam SaskFirst tournament. 160 Saskatchewan bantam hockey…

Jaycee Gebhard Remains an Integral Part of Robert Morris Hockey

Jaycee Gebhard is well into her third year with Robert Morris' University Hockey Program. Originally from Plenty, Gebhard has proven to be a core part of the team in scoring and leadership. Earlier…

Four Straight Wins for Klippers After Road Victory Over Ice Wolves

The Kindersley Klippers rallied in the second half of the game to score three unanswered goals in a 4-2 win over the La Ronge Ice Wolves last night at the Mel Hegland Uniplex in La Ronge. Kyle Bosch… is West Central Saskatchewan's only source for community news, weather, and information.

Search the Biz Guide