The nominations are in for the 2018-2019 Sask West Hockey League Awards.

The awards cover all aspects of the game from offence and defence, goaltending and coaching. Award winners will be announced at the end of the season once playoffs have been completed.

Unity's Jake McMillan, Macklin's Nate Hargrave and Wilkie's Brett Harrison are all vying to receive the league's Most Valuable Player Award. Harrison ended the regular season as the top point getter with 28 goals and 31 assists over 20 games for the Outlaws. McMillan was not far behind Harrison in the scoring race, posting 28 goals and 29 assists in his second SWHL season. Hargrave recorded 10 wins in 18 starts for the Mohawks and was a key contributor in Macklin's eight-game winning streak to end the regular season and climb to third in the standings.

The Top Defenceman Award candidates include reigning Defenceman of the Year Derek Keller from Wilkie, Kindersley's Brody Ryberg, Biggar's Curtis Piecowye and Macklin's Alex Cheveldave.

No nominees have yet been named for the Top Goaltender Award, but that doesn't mean there aren't netminders who have been recognized for their play this season. Kindersley's Luke Sproule, who was last year's Rookie of the Year, along with Macklin's Nathan Hargrave and Biggar's Zach Noble, have all been named to the All-Star Team Goaltenders list.

Rookie of the Year nominees are Biggar's Tanner Braun, Macklin goaltender Nathan Rolstan, and Kindersley's Landon Longmire.

Biggar's Chad Ireland, Macklin's Jeremy Reinbold and Curtis Gette, and Kindersley's Matt Glencross are all up for this year's Coach of the Year Award.

Check out the full list of award candidates for the 2018-2019 season below. The first round of playoffs begins this Saturday with Game 1 in Luseland at 8:00 p.m. between the Mallards and Macklin Mohawks, and Game 1 of the other series in Unity at 8:00 p.m. between the Miners and Biggar Nationals. Matchups in the first round are a best-of-three format, then they move to best-of-five for the semifinals and finals.

swhl awards 2018-2019 edit.jpg

(Image: SWHL)


Twitter: @MoisesCanalesJr

Follow Country 104 (CKVX)Classic Hits Radio (CFYM/CJYM) and West Central Online on Facebook.

Follow Country 104 (CKVX) and Classic Hits Radio (CJYM) on Twitter.

More Sports News

Jardine Reflects on Time with Klippers

Clayton Jardine's cell phone has been buzzing and ringing constantly over the last couple days. No doubt it has been hectic lately for the 28-year-old who resigned from his position as head coach and…

Great Skill on Display at Badminton Playoffs

This past weekend the District Champion playoff tournament for High School Badminton took place. Senior players from the west central region headed to LCBI in Outlook for their tournament, and junior…

Buttar Slides Down the World Rankings

Dakota Buttar has outlasted the eight-second buzzer on five of his last ten bulls, however has found himself sliding down the world standings. After his showing at Kansas City, Missouri, Buttar…

Weekend Scoreboard - Mid-April Edition

2019 Allan Cup - Lacombe, Alberta The Lacombe Generals are the 2019 Allan Cup champions. The annual senior AAA hockey tournament came to a close on Saturday night with the Generals winning the final… is West Central Saskatchewan's only source for community news, weather, and information.

Search the Biz Guide