On Wednesday night, the West Central AA Hockey Association hosted their season awards banquet at the Kindersley Elks Hall, bringing in players and families from all over the region.

It was an evening of reflection and celebration for the players, coaches and familes who attended the event. Coaches gave speeches to thank members of the organization and volunteers for their work this season, and they had a few words to say about their players and how their teams did over the winter months.

The guest speaker for the night was head coach and general manager Clayton Jardine of the SJHL's Kindersley Klippers. While onstage, the bench boss shared with the crowd what he has learned through both his coach and player careers, giving the young players his advice moving forward with their own journeys in hockey. He also gave some information to parents on the NCAA hockey program which was the route he took following his years in junior.

Head coaches Zane Hayes (Atom), Brett Sautner (Pee Wee) and Jason Kelly (Bantam) gave their recaps of their seasons to the audience that night. Each player was introduced at the front of the hall prior to or following the coaches and their speeches.

Here is a list of award winners for each team during the 2018-2019 season.


Atom Tier 1 Wheat Kings


Most Dedicated: Jaden Blanchette

Most Improved: Emerson Cey

Most Sportsmanlike: Austin Sittler

Hustler Award: Triston Mitchell-McElhone

Top Scorer: Daxton Endicott

MVP: Connor Ralston

atom wheat kings award winners.jpg

Your 2018-2019 Atom Wheat Kings award winners. (Photo: Moises Canales)


Pee Wee AA Wheat Kings


Hustler Award: Pryce Thiessen

Most Improved: Pherson Loendorf

Most Sportsmanlike: Paige Fischer

Most Dedicated: Dayton Reschny

Coach's Award: Carter Ralston

Top Scorer: Cole Reschny

MVP: Cole Reschny

pee wee wheat kings award winners.jpg

This year's individual award winners for the Pee Wee Wheat Kings. (Photo: Moises Canales)


Bantam AA Wheat Kings


Most Sportsmanlike: Karson Blanchette

Scholastic Award: Emery Cholin

Most Improved: Karson Blanchette

Hustler Award: Leighton Partington

Most Dedicated: Kayden Ostrom

Top Scorer: Jakin Lawrence

MVP: Ethan Hilbig

bantam award winners.jpg

Six players make up this year's recipients for awards from the Bantam Wheat Kings. (Photo: Moises Canales) 


Congratulations to all of this season's award winners, and to all the players and coaching staffs on great seasons with their respective teams.


Twitter: @MoisesCanalesJr

Follow Country 104 (CKVX)Classic Hits Radio (CFYM/CJYM) and West Central Online on Facebook.

Follow Country 104 (CKVX) and Classic Hits Radio (CJYM) on Twitter.

More Sports News

Jardine Reflects on Time with Klippers

Clayton Jardine's cell phone has been buzzing and ringing constantly over the last couple days. No doubt it has been hectic lately for the 28-year-old who resigned from his position as head coach and…

Great Skill on Display at Badminton Playoffs

This past weekend the District Champion playoff tournament for High School Badminton took place. Senior players from the west central region headed to LCBI in Outlook for their tournament, and junior…

Buttar Slides Down the World Rankings

Dakota Buttar has outlasted the eight-second buzzer on five of his last ten bulls, however has found himself sliding down the world standings. After his showing at Kansas City, Missouri, Buttar…

Weekend Scoreboard - Mid-April Edition

2019 Allan Cup - Lacombe, Alberta The Lacombe Generals are the 2019 Allan Cup champions. The annual senior AAA hockey tournament came to a close on Saturday night with the Generals winning the final…

WestCentralOnline.com is West Central Saskatchewan's only source for community news, weather, and information.

Search the Biz Guide