Kindersley Minor Hockey held their annual Esso Awards back on Wednesday. During the week we shared a story on the association giving out the first ever Jamie Henry Memorial award for Volunteer of the Year, Elaine Epp earning the honour this year.

Read about the new memorial award in the link posted above, as it joined the Trent Kresse Memorial MVP for U15, Darren Uzelman Memorial MVP for U15, and Torrens Most Inspirational award for U13, U15, and U18. The Lyle Dobson Memorial MVP was not handed out this year.

President of Kindersley Minor Hockey Ethan Wigley helped recap the night as a whole.

"It was a good night. We start with youth rec, then U5, U7 U9, U11; that's our first group." said Wigley, shouting out the team at Tisdales Sales and Service for working the BBQ once again, who worked the shift in the cold!. "Then we welcomed our U13, U15, and U18 group. Once again a great meal, and then we handed out awards."

The usual trophies like MVP, hustler, etc were all handed out, before moving into the memorial awards portion of the program. Wigley started off by explaining the Trent Kresse award.

"Trent obviously was a pretty skilled hockey player that grew up in Kindersley, and tragically passed in the Swift Current Broncos bus crash. Madden Greenwood and Cohen Dufault won those awards. Pretty special, Carter Kresse was there for that."

Wigley then went into the Darren Uzelman award, given this year to U18 Klippers goaltender Mason Kucher.

"Unfortunately no one from the family was able to make it. Darren grew up in Kindersley, played minor hockey through all levels, leader on-and-off the ice." shared Wigley, calling him a person, and player people would look up to. "Darren tragically passed away in a car accident in 1991, and we honour him by giving out the award.

After that Wigley went into the history behind the Torrens Most Inspirational award that goes out to each level.

"It was originally called the Hugh Torrens Most Inspirational award in 1991, after Hugh's passing. In 1989 he was honoured by Kindersley Minor Sports as the first recipient of the Sportsman of the Year award." said Wigley as the award was presented by KMS alum and local retired NHL'er Bob Bourne. "He was a huge fan, avid spectator of both hockey and baseball from initiation to senior. His passion for sports was passed on to his son David, and daughter Doreen Boyd, as well as their families. When funds were needed to help build the new arena in the early 90s, a sizeable donation was given by the Torrens' family, and he was honoured to cover the costs of the complete dressing room."

The award now covers generations of goodwill from the Torrens. 

"With the passing of his son David in 2011, the award was renamed the Torrens Most Inspirational award."

"Goes to a player who may not have the most points, but a player that did everything else. Respectful of coaches, parents, and teammates. Player that loves the game and has fun while giving an honest effort. Has knowledge of the game, even if the physical attributes weren't always the strongest. Player who everyone wants on their team because of their character."

Each team from the U13-U18 division has a Torrens winner. Like the Trent Kresse award, a family member was on stage for the presentation.

"Glenda Hawken, grand-daughter of Hugh, and daughter of David, was there to help present the award." said Wigley. "U13 head coach Jamie Holland came up on stage and presented the award to Clay German. U15 Team 1, Jamie Dufault presented the award to Kingston Greschner. U15 Team 2, which is my team, the award was presented to Logan Cullen. U18 coach Travis Vogel presented the award to Coen Gartner."

Those memorial awards helped cap a great night of celebration at all levels. Wanting to celebrate one more thing, Wigley listed off the U18 team's third year players that officially put a bow on their Kindersley Minor Hockey careers.

"Graduating players this year were Jonathan Allen, Brayden Aldridge, Walker Elliott, Coen Gartner, Cole Gilbert, Mason Kucher, Chase Oomen, Tyler Schimpf, and Josh Yaremovich."

Find the full list of award winners below, and a link to a photo gallery HERE.

436354725_823757059776009_7487394650982282125_n.jpgvia Kindersley Minor Hockey on Facebook

Kindersley Minor Sports did have some more important business to share on Wednesday. The group announced their upcoming AGM for May, as you can read more about an upcoming vote in the related articles below.