The provincial and federal governments joined together to reward a group of young agriculture advocates back on May 6.

Madalynn Anderson from Rosetown finished as one of three runners-up for their agriculture student scholarships, joining Clare Wever from Lloydminster, Katie Moyle from Hanley, and Marleigh Mann from Lloydminster as the grand-prize winner.

“Young people are truly the future of the sector, and I would like to congratulate this year’s scholarship recipients,” Federal Agriculture and Agri-Food Minister Lawrence MacAulay said. “By furthering their post-secondary education, these young people are setting a foundation for successful careers in a strong, sustainable agricultural sector.”

441870657_821465313336321_5758194437461573373_n.jpgThe recipients standing with a group including Premier Scott Moe (right)

Anderson received $3000 as one of the runners-up to the competition. Applicants had to write an essay or create a video discussing the topic of "farming and environmental sustainability". Those submissions are then judged by a review committee on things like the theme provided, development of ideas, structure and clarity, creativity and quality, and professionalism according to the entry page.

The grand-prize for the Agriculture Student Scholarship was $6000. Each of the recipients are set to attend the University of Saskatchewan this fall in the College of Agriculture and Bioresources in various fields of study.

"Witnessing the passion and knowledge of Saskatchewan's youth through the Agriculture Student Scholarship submissions has been truly remarkable," Agriculture Minister David Marit said. "Saskatchewan is a world leader in agriculture which is why it is so important that we invest in the education of our future industry leaders. Congratulations to this year's recipients."  

You can read Anderson's submission "Sustainability in Agriculture" here.