A former Saskatchewan premier will obtain the province's highest achievement award later this spring.

Brad Wall was announced as one of the 10 recipients of the 2024 Saskatchewan Order of Merit on May 2.

"I am grateful to the newest recipients of the Saskatchewan Order of Merit for making profoundly positive impacts in our communities," Saskatchewan's Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty said. "By generously giving of their time, talents and resources, they have significantly contributed to the betterment of our province."

Wall, born in Swift Current, became the Swift Current MLA in 1999 when he defeated incumbent NDP John Wall. 

He became the Sask Party's leader in 2004 and led them to form the provincial government for the first time in the province's history in 2007 with a majority victory. As the 14th premier of the province, he won three straight majority elections: 2007, 2011, and 2016. 

In August 2017, Wall announced he would be stepping down as premier and officially stepped aside on Feb. 2, 2018, when Scott Moe took over.

Mirasty will present Wall along with the nine other recipients with their medals in Regina on June 19.