With files from Scott Boulton

The province's cabinet will look a bit different after today as they're announcing a switch in positions.

Premier Scott Moe announced that this morning, saying the new positions reflect their mandate.

"The mandate of our new cabinet is to build and protect Saskatchewan - to continue building a strong economy, strong communities, and strong families, and to protect all that we have built together from threats like federal intrusion and economic challenges like inflation"

Nine ministers, including Rosetown-Elrose MLA Jim Reiter, will retain their current responsibilities, as Reiter is currently the Energy and Resources Minister.

Here are the other eight ministers who will be retaining their positions.   

  • Donna Harpauer remains Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance;
  • Gordon Wyant remains Minister of Advanced Education;
  • Jeremy Harrison remains Minister of Trade and Export Development, Minister of Immigration and Career Training, and Minister responsible for Innovation and Tourism Saskatchewan;
  • David Marit remains Minister of Agriculture and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation, and also becomes Minister responsible for the Water Security Agency;
  • Don McMorris remains Minister of Government Relations, Minister responsible for First Nations, Metis and Northern Affairs and Minister responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission, and also becomes Minister of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety, and the Minister responsible for Workers' Compensation Board;
  • Bronwyn Eyre remains Minister of Justice and Attorney General;
  • Gene Makowsky remains Minister of Social Services; and
  • Laura Ross remains Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport and Minister responsible for the Status of Women and the Lotteries and Gaming Corporation.

Six other ministers remain in cabinet but take on new responsibilities:

  • Dustin Duncan becomes Minister of Crown Investments Corporation and Minister responsible for all the major Crowns, including SaskPower, SaskEnergy, SaskTel, SGI and SaskWater, as well as Minister responsible for the Public Service Commission;
  • Christine Tell becomes Minister of Environment;
  • Paul Merriman becomes Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and Minister responsible for the Firearms Secretariat;
  • Lori Carr becomes Minister of Highways;
  • Everett Hindley becomes Minister of Health; and
  • Jeremy Cockrill becomes Minister of Education.

The overall size of the cabinet will remain unchanged at 18, including the Premier.  

Two former members of the cabinet who left earlier this month will not be seeking re-election in 2024 - Don Morgan and Dana Skoropad.  Morgan becomes Provincial Secretary.

Stay ahead with vital alerts and breaking news. Download our WestCentralOnline app HERE